PIPELINES
  • NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV2-ND4)

    For the treatment of LHON caused by ND4-mutation

    Current Phase:

    Pre-Clinical Study, IND-Enabling

    Next Milestone:

    IND Approval

  • NFS-02 (rAAV2-ND1)

    For the treatment of LHON caused by ND1-mutation

    Current Phase:

    Pre-Clinical Study, IND-Enabling

    Next Milestone:

    IND Submission

LHON
(Leber Hereditary Optic Neuropathy)

LHON is a maternally inherited mitochondrial disease that mostly affects young men between the ages of 14 and 21 with binocular vision impairment and blindness. First discovered by German ophthalmologist Theodor Leber in 1871, the disease affects about 600,000 people worldwide, including 100,000 in China. LHON is a disease caused by mitochondrial DNA mutations. The three primary mutations are located at the 11778th, 14484th and 3460th locus in the mitochondrial genome. More than 90% of LHON patients are associated with one of three mutations - G11778A (ND4 gene), G3460A (ND1 gene) and T14484C (ND6 gene), notably the G11778A accounts for 50% ~ 80%. The mutations will cause the damage of mitochondrial biological respiratory chain and ATP deficiency. Consequently, the optic ganglion cells of the patients produced oxidative stress , leading to cell apoptosis. At present, there is no effective therapy or cure for Leber’s hereditary optic neuropathy.




  • Normal Visual Field


  • Visual Field of Normal Patient


  • Visual Field of Severe Patient



Neurophth is currently developing two drug candidates for LHON, NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV-ND4) and NFS-02 (rAAV-ND1), to treat LHON diseases caused by G11778A (ND4) site mutation and G3460A(ND1) site mutation, respectively. The mechanism of action is to leverage gene therapy strategy and use recombinant adeno-associated virus as the vector to deliver the correct genes to the patients' damaged optic ganglion cells through introvitinreous injection, thus repair the mitochondrial biological respiratory chain, and restore the vitality and visual function of optic ganglion cells.


The founder of Neurophth, Prof. Bin Li’s team began the study of gene therapy in ophthalmology since 2008 , launched the world's first LHON gene therapy investigator-initiated trial (IIT1) in 2011, and initiated the world largest sample size international multicenter gene therapy clinical trials (IIT2) in 2018. Though these two studies, they have been accumulating the longest follow-up time and the largest sample size of safety and efficacy data, providing supportive evidences for the industrialization development of LHON drug candidates.


LHON has been listed in the first Chinese National List of Rare Diseases in May 2018, and the development of LHON candidate drugs is expected to benefit from a series of incentive policies for the R&D of rare diseases. In addition, NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV-ND4) was designated as orphan drug by the U.S. FDA in September 2020, which laid a foundation for accelerating international development of this product.





NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV-ND4)The mechanism of action to treat LHON:

Leveraging gene therapy strategy, we use recombinant adeno-associated virus as the vector to deliver the correct genes to the patients' damaged optic ganglion cells through introvitinreous injection, thus repair the mitochondrial biological respiratory chain, and restore the vitality and visual function of optic ganglion cells.




Safety, Efficacy, and Durability of NFS-01 Demonstrated in Two Studies by Prof. Bin Li’s team

IIT1: SEE4LHON IIT2: 4-HOPE
Enrollment Period 2011-2012 2017-2018
ClinicalTrials.gov
Identifier
NCT01267422 NCT03153293
Drug Candidate NR082 (rAAV2-ND4)
Treatment Dose 0.5 x 1010 vg/eye for < 12 y.o.
1.0 x 1010 vg/eye for ≥ 12 y.o.
1.0 x 1010 vg/eye for ≥ 6 y.o.
No. of Patients 9 159
Sources of Patients 9 Chinese (Asian) 149 Chinese (Asian)
10 Argentinian (non-Asian)
Duration of
Follow-up
Up to 90 months Up to 12 months



The world first LHON clinical trial and the longest follow-up record - IIT1:SEE4LHON

In 2011, Prof. Bin Li, the founder of Neurophth was a chief ophthalmologist of Huazhong University of Science and Technology Tongji Medical College. Under the leadership of Prof. Li, the world's first gene therapy clinical trial (NCT01267422) for NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV2-ND4) to treat Leber's hereditary optic neuropathy was initiated in China. Using recombinant adeno-associated virus as vector, the scientists delivered the correct human ND4 gene to the patients' damaged optic ganglion cells through intravitreous injection, repaired the mitochondrial biological respiratory chain, and restored the vitality and visual function of optic ganglion cells.


Among the 9 LHON patients with G11778A (ND4) mutation enrolled in the trial, visual acuity in 5 patients improved significantly, with the best visual acuity returned to 0.8. The average best-corrected visual acuity improved by 0.39logMAR (i.e., nearly four lines of letters read) in 9 patients. Eight of the patients completed nearly 8 years of long-term follow-up, with no serious adverse events, and the visual improvement in five patients has been maintained to this day. The clinical trial data, which is the longest follow-up record in the ophthmologic gene therapy field, was published in Scientific Reports 2016, in EBioMedicine 2016, and Ophthalmology 2020 , and was reported at the Annual meeting of the American Society for Gene and Cell Therapy (ASGCT) in 2020.



  • Prof. Bin Li was injecting NR082(rAAV2-ND4) into subject of the world's first LHON clinical trial.


  • The results of IIT1 was published in the cover of EBioMedicine





The world's largest sample size gene therapy LHON clinical Trial- IIT2:4-HOPE


Encouraged by the initial success, Prof. Li's team has completed an international gene therapy clinical study during 2017-2018 in 159 LHON patients in China and Argentina, which is the world's largest clinical trial for gene therapy. Similarly, the 12-month follow-up results showed that NFS-01 has remarkable curative effect and no obvious serious adverse events have been found. Among 143 subjects who completed one-year follow-up, 81 (56.6%) had significantly improved visual acuity in the injected eye, with an average visual acuity of 0.57 LogMAR (5-6 lines of letters read). The result of these two studies were presented at ARVO and ASGCT 2020.

研发项目
  • NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV2-ND4)

    治疗ND4突变引起的Leber遗传性视神经病变

    目前阶段:

    已获得NMPA临床试验许可

    下一个里程碑:

    首例患者入组给药

  • NFS-02 (rAAV2-ND1)

    治疗ND1突变引起的Leber遗传性视神经病变

    目前阶段:

    临床前研究,IND申报准备

    下一个里程碑:

    IND申报

Leber遗传性视神经病变
(Leber hereditary optic neuropathy, LHON)

该疾病是一种母系遗传的线粒体疾病,多发于14-21岁的青年男性,患者表现为双目视力受损至失明。这一疾病由德国眼科医生 Theodor Leber于1871年首先发现,目前全球患者约60万人,其中中国10万人。LHON是线粒体DNA突变所导致的疾病,位于线粒体基因组上的第11778、第14484和第3460位点为该病的3个原发位点,90%以上的LHON病人中能够发现G11778A (ND4基因)、G3460A(ND1基因)、T14484C(ND6基因) 三个位点突变中的一个,尤以G11778A最多,占50%~80%。由于该突变使线粒体生物呼吸链受损,造成ATP缺乏,使患者视神经节细胞产生氧化应激,导致细胞凋亡。目前临床上尚无针对Leber遗传性视神经病变的有效疗法或治愈手段。




  • 正常视野


  • 一般病人视野


  • 严重病情病人视野



纽福斯目前正在开发两款针对LHON的候选药物 - NFS-01(NR082, rAAV-ND4) 和 NFS-02(rAAV-ND1), 分别治疗G11778A (ND4) 位点突变和G3460A(ND1) 位点突变所引起的LHON疾病。作用机制为采用基因治疗策略,以重组腺相关病毒作为载体,将正确的基因通过玻璃体腔注射递送至患者受损的视神经节细胞,修复线粒体生物呼吸链,使视神经节细胞恢复活力与视功能。


纽福斯创始人李斌教授团队自2008年起即开始对眼科基因治疗技术的研究探索,于2011年发起全球首例LHON基因治疗研究者发起临床试验(IIT1), 并于2017年启动全球最大样本量基因治疗国际多中心研究者发起临床试验 (IIT2),至今已积累全球最长随访时间和最大样本量的安全性、有效性数据,为LHON候选药物的产业化开发提供有利支持。


LHON已于2018年5月被纳入国家《第一批罕见病名录》,纽福斯LHON候选药物的开发有望享受一系列罕见病药物研发鼓励政策;另外,NFS-01(NR082, rAAV-ND4)于2020年9月获得美国FDA孤儿药认定,为该产品加速国际化开发奠定了基础。





NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV-ND4)治疗LHON作用机理:

采用基因治疗策略,以重组腺相关病毒(rAAV)作为载体,将正确的ND4基因通过玻璃体腔注射递送至患者受损的视神经节细胞,修复线粒体生物呼吸链,使视神经节细胞恢复活力与视功能。




李斌教授团队通过两项研究者发起的临床试验(IIT1 & IIT2)证实NFS-01在人体内长期安全有效

IIT1: SEE4LHON IIT2: 4-HOPE
入组时间 2011-2012 2017-2018
ClinicalTrials.gov
登记号
NCT01267422 NCT03153293
试验候选药物 NR082 (rAAV2-ND4)
治疗剂量 0.5 x 1010 vg/eye for < 12 y.o.
1.0 x 1010 vg/eye for ≥ 12 y.o.
1.0 x 1010 vg/eye for ≥ 6 y.o.
受试者数目 9 159
受试者来源 9例中国 (亚洲) 149例中国 (亚洲)
10例阿根廷 (非亚洲)
单次注射后
随访时间
最长至90个月 最长至12个月



全球首个LHON临床试验和最长随访记录 IIT1:SEE4LHON

2011年,在纽福斯创始人、时任华中科技大学同济医学院眼科主任医师李斌教授的领衔下,全球首例针对Leber遗传性视神经病变的试验性NFS-01 (NR082, rAAV2-ND4)基因治疗临床试验(NCT01267422)在中国启动。科学家们以重组腺相关病毒作为载体,将正确的人ND4基因通过玻璃体腔注射递送至患者受损的视神经节细胞,修复线粒体生物呼吸链,使视神经节细胞恢复活力与视功能。


在参与试验的9例G11778A (ND4) 位点突变LHON患者中,5位患者的视力得到明显改善,最佳视力恢复到0.8,9名患者平均最佳矫正视力提高0.39logMAR (即接近字母表四行的提高)。其中8名患者完成了近8年的长期随访,无严重不良反应事件,且5名患者的视力改善一直被保持至今。该临床试验创全球眼科基因治疗最长随访记录,试验结果先后发表于2016年的《自然》子刊Scientific Reports 、2016年的《柳叶刀》子刊EBioMedicine 、及2020年的眼科领域顶级杂志《眼科学》上,并于2020年美国基因与细胞治疗学会(ASGCT)年会上报告 。



  • 图为李斌教授在全球首个LHON临床试验
    中为受试者注射NR082(rAAV2-ND4)


  • 图为IIT1研究结果在
    EBioMedicine封面刊登





全球最大样本量基因治疗LHON临床试验 IIT2: 4-HOPE


在首项研究取得可喜成果后,李斌教授团队于2017-2018年间进行了一项更为全面的临床研究,研究入组受试者达159例(其中包括来自阿根廷的10例),这也是据公开资料显示迄今全球最大样本量的基因治疗临床试验。同样,十二个月随访结果显示候选药物疗效显着,且未发现严重不良反应。其中143名受试者完成一年随访,其中81名(56.6%)注射眼视力水平显著提高,该81名有效受试者平均视力提高达 0.57 LogMAR (视力表5-6行)。这项国际研究结果于2020年美国基因和细胞治疗学会(ASGCT)会议上进行了口头报告。